

## Legislative Study Group on Educator Licensure MINUTES

Thursday, July 21, 2016 1:00 p.m. Room 1200 ~ Minnesota Senate Building

## **Members Present:**

Co-Chair: Senator Charles Wiger

Co-chair: Representative Sondra Erickson

Representative Drew Christensen

Senator Greg Clausen Senator Kevin Dahle Representative Jenifer Loon

Senator Eric Pratt

Representative Barb Yarusso

## **Members Excused:**

Senator Gary Dahms Representative Jim Davnie Senator Karin Housley Representative Carlos Mariani

Call to Order by Senator Wiger at 1:00 p.m.

Motion to approve Minutes of June 28th Meeting made by Senator Pratt. Motion prevails.

Minnesota Department of Education, represented by Hue Nguyen, Assistant Commissioner, and Nels Onstad, Director of Education Licensing made a presentation.

Board of School Administrators' board members appeared and testified. Members appearing

included: Mary Mackbee, Board Chair

Deb Henton, Board Member, and Louise Sundin, Board Member

Erin Doan, Executive Director & Alex Luizzi, Teacher Education Specialist represented the Minnesota Board of Teaching with a presentation and documents related to their position on teacher licensure, including recommendations on how to restructure teacher licensure.

Doreen Frost, Executive Director of the Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape Architecture, Geoscience and Interior Design (AELSLAGID) appeared before the Study Group to answer questions related to a tiered licensure system.

A draft meeting calendar for the balance of 2016 was presented. It is hoped that not all meetings on the schedule may be necessary.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:21 p.m.